Home | Spot Lights | Egypt’s Cabinet Reshuffle

Egypt’s Cabinet Reshuffle

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Egypt’s Cabinet Reshuffle

After days of political uncertainty and turmoil, Egypt’s Prime Minister Essam Sharaf seems very close to announcing the final make-up of the new cabinet.

The cabinet is expected to include 14 new ministers.

A list of nominees, expected to be sworn in as ministers later this afternoon in front of Field Marshal Mohamed Hussein Tantawi, head of Egypt's ruling military council.

Hazem Beblawi: deputy prime minister and minister of finance. The 74-year-old advisor at the Abu Dhabi-based Arab Monetary Fund will replace the controversial outgoing minister Samir Radwan.

Ali El-Salmi: deputy prime minister for political affairs. The 75-year-old will also become minister of public sector affairs. Salmi is a former minister of administrative development and was minister of monitoring in the late 1970s. He has written several books on management.

Mohamed Salem: minister of communications. Salem is a former military officer who graduated from the Military Institute of Technolgy in 1970. His resume reflects a long track record of experience in information technology and security. He has lectured for years on these issues at Cairo University and currently serves as chairman of the International Conference on Information Technology.

Mahmoud Issa: minister of trade and industry. Issa is a former chairman of the department of quality control at the same ministry.

Mohamed Kamel Amr: foreign minister, replacing Mohamed El-Orabi. Amr is Egypt’s former ambassador to Saudi Arabia.

Lotfi Kamal: minister of civil aviation. Kamal is the former chief-of-staff of the Air Force. Workers at Cairo International Airport have rejected the idea that Kamal or any other military figure head their ministry.

Mohamed Abdel Fadil El-Qossi: minister of religious endowments. El-Qossi is vice president of the World’s Association of Al-Azhar Graduates.

Mohamed Atia: minister of local development. Atia is a former first-deputy chairman of the Council of the State.

Moataz Khorshid: minister of higher education and scientific research. Khorshid is currently chairman of the Egyptian Software Engineers Association. Many opposed Khorshid’s nomination and alleged that he was once a member of Mubarak’s NDP.

Ibrahim Sabry: minister of military production, replacing Said Meshaal.

Amr Helmy: minister of health. The 62-year-old Helmi is a former dean of the National Liver Institute at the University of Menoufiya.

Ali Zien El-Abdeen: minister of transportation. The 57-year-old engineer served as the director of Cairo Project Festival at Al-Futtaim Company. He has also published several studies on transport infrastructure.

Salah Farag: minister of agriculture.

Hashim Kandil: minister of irrigation and water resources. Kandil served as head of the Nile Department in the same ministry and was part of a team in charge of Egyptian-Sudanese Nile affairs.

The ministerial reshuffle has spared the current ministers of:

justice, interior, electricity, international cooperation, education, petroleum, culture, environment, tourism, manpower and labour, and social solidarity.

Subscribe to comments feed Comments (0 posted)

total: | displaying:

Post your comment

  • Bold
  • Italic
  • Underline
  • Quote

Please enter the code you see in the image: